I swear she is one hell of a comedian and actress! Fresh from watching Ang Babae sa Septic Tank the other night, I can’t help but grin every time I remember a scene. A movie about an indie director and producer filming a story about a family in the slums wherein the mother (Mila) was forced to sell her kid for money. They needed someone to play Mila and that’s where Uge comes in. I feel guilty sniggering about the situation because these things do happen in real life and it’s no joke but Director Marlon Rivera managed to give it a spin. Uge’s brand of comedy: undeniable. Her timing: spot on. And her performance: award-winning. Evidently, the movie garnered awards from the Cinemalaya. Kean Cipriano and JM De Guzman, though odd choices, held their own – I was actually surprised they can act. They were believable as the 2 aspiring filmmakers. I had a laugh with the ‘expresso’ guy too. What a douche! You have no idea how many people are like that in Facebook. The musical portion was entertaining as well as the discussion whether Cherry Pie Picache and some actress were better fit for the role. (haha) I was doubtful when the movie started but once Uge (as herself) came to the picture it was a full-on riot. It’s like that scene in Kimmy Dora where Dora pretended to be her sister. Also I learned a thing or two about filmmaking. The end was side-splitting, so do watch out for that. All in all, the movie feels a little cut short but the second half is truly worth the build up. A must-see, I missed laughing like that in the cinemas. 🙂

