Not that I have a problem with the Master of magnetism, he’s my favorite nemesis or even as a character in general. It’s just that the title connotes that the movie is about the X-men themselves but that’s not what I saw. Putting that aside, it’s great that the friendship between Charles and Eric was made the central plot and both James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender portrayed their larger-than-life characters with conviction and I believed them in every scene. I also like how they incorporated actual history in the story. Who knew the Cuban Missile Crisis was caused by mutants? I can give the writers a thumbs-up for that. And although I’m tired of Wolverine, his cameo was a pleasant surprise even Rebecca Romijn’s.

Here go my qualms: the movie felt weird for me. There was something off and yet I can’t put my finger on it. I don’t hate it but I wasn’t impressed with it either. When I look back on it, I think here’s why: the visual effects weren’t extraordinary to a point that it sometimes looks cheap (e.g. Mystique’s appearance and that scene where Havok first showed his powers). The only convincing part was when Magneto controls the missiles during the climax. I guess you have to take in consideration the fact that the movie is set in the 1960s but still I think they could’ve done better. Even the rest of the characters are underwhelming. I mean that fly girl Angel? Or whoever the black guy was. I’m pretty sure they were not part of the original members. I’m just happy with the eye candy I got from Havok (Lucas Till) and the non-blue Beast (Nicholas Hoult). Even the villains; I’ve read of Sebastian Shaw, Emma Frost/White Queen and the Hellfire Club in the comics but not that wind guy whose called Riptide I just found out and that red Nightcrawler wannabe. Sorry I don’t know everything about the X-Men but I’m a huge fan and there are plenty of characters to choose from, why them? Moving on, I’m just waiting on the time when the movies will tackle other villains like Mister Sinister or Apocalypse.

The Last Stand is still the best X-Men movie for me; that was epic! And the best storyline is X-Men United. First Class takes the third place – not bad.

