With great movies premiering almost every week in Hollywood, you must’ve caught at least one of them. It pretty much started with the release of the Wolverine spin-off. As for me, I got to watch 3: Transformers, Ice Age and HP and with others still coming up such as G.I. Joe and Up. Here’s my take on them:

 Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

Director: Michael Bay

Cast: Shia LaBeouf, Megan Fox, Josh Duhamel, Tyrese Gibson

Rating: 5 Stars

transformers-revenge-of-the-fallen-poster-2

I was blown away by this one. Wow, I am surprised that it got really bad reviews but here’s my opinion; I just think they didn’t get it. I mean, it’s an action movie and I don’t mean it in a ‘mindless-explosions-with-tacky-love-story’ kind of way. You can’t expect it to have an Oscar-winning plot, having said that I don’t think its underplotted as well. It’s about alien robots for pete’s sake! They didn’t appreciate the visually stimulating, extraordinary imagery it presented, it was meant as a feast for the eyes. Lasting for almost 2 and a half hours, I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. It wasn’t boring at all. You may think I get pleased a little too easily but for me I just took the movie for what it is. I know it may have used so much stereotypes for a summer, action theme movie but it was all in all entertaining which I think the goal of the movie is. The non-stop tin-crushing fight scenes between the Autobots and the Decepticons (still don’t get why the good ones chose cars while the evil ones got the tanks and fighter jets), the in-between comic reliefs courtesy of mom and dad and the new characters as well (the twin ‘black’ robots and the dude roommate from loserville), the geeky guy getting the hot girl of his dreams and even the cheesy after-life ‘you’re-the-chosen-one’ scene. 🙂 Great movie that should only be seen in a movie house!!!

 Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs

Directors: Carlos Saldanha, Mike Thurmeier

Cast: Ray Romano, John Leguizamo, Denis Leary, Queen Latifah, Sean William Scott, Josh Peck

Rating: 4 Stars

iceage_3_poster

Fun, fun movie. 🙂 It was a great turnaround from the disappointing Monsters Vs. Aliens from Dreamworks. They kept it short which is always great for these types of movies and filled it with hilarious and heartwarming scenes until it pops. Not a very avid fan before, I’m not even sure if I caught it in theaters or just in HBO but I do think its the best among the 3. The star of the show is of course the charming sloth Sid, always getting the gang into trouble and his good nature is always nice to watch. Scrat, the squirrel, may have that ridiculous love triangle with his nut (as always!) and the female flying squirrel, Scratte, but I think the scene-stealers are the funny possums Crash and Eddie and the adventurous new character Buck. And I never thought baby dinosaurs can be cute too! Baby T-Rexes for that matter. I can tell it was very entertaining for kids but it has the wit that adults can enjoy as well. Wouldn’t mind a fourth installment, agree? 

 Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

 Director: David Yates

 Cast: Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint, Emma Watson, Michael Gambon, Alan Rickman, Tom Felton, Bonnie Wright, Helena Bonham Carter, Maggie Smith, Jim Broadbent

 Rating: 4 Stars

harry_potter_and_the_half_blood_prince_potter-_poster2

I saved the best for last and before I get into the details, I just want to say that this was my first time for the whole series that I read the book first before I watched the movie so its really tricky to judge. Its weird knowing the whole story already and basically hoping that what was translated into screen satisfies you. Upon hearing others’ thoughts of disappointment, I set my mind for the inevitable fact that the book is always better than the movie. Its difficult to fit the entire thing even for 5 whole hours, I think. Having that in mind here’s what I can say: First, it didn’t occur to me that the movie progressed for more than 2 hours and that’s a good thing, it means it kept me interested. Maybe some of you will say its because I’m a huge fan already, so okay I won’t contest that. Secondly, the focus on the teenage love affairs and triangles were very refreshing and enjoyable. As the movies get darker and darker, I think it is great they incorporated a lighter subplot. Third, I think overall the movie stayed true to the book of course with few exceptions but it didn’t take away from the story so it was just fine with me, like Luna finding Harry on the train instead of Tonks, Dumbledore appearing in the train station, Ginny with Harry inside the Room of Requirement and in the barn amidst the attacks of Bellatrix and Greyback and other minor details. I think it was on the latter part where it gets critical. Though the exciting scenes were there like the cave moment and the disasters in the muggle world, I think readers and non-readers would have appreciated a great fight scene upon the breaking in of the Death Eaters inside Hogwarts. Instead the scene jumped to Dumbledore’s death, even the part of the ‘Flight of the Prince’ kind of fell short. I was imagining a very grand display of wizard-on-wizard duels. Anyways lastly, although there was a tribute made to the beloved Hogwarts Headmaster, I think it would have been better if the ‘White Tomb’ was also shown. It could have been a well-deserved farewell to him. In the end all of these can only be considered as an appetizer for the great main dish ahead, you know what I mean? It just makes you beg for more. It just makes you more excited knowing all the things that would be happening next. Though I had qualms about the movie, it really didn’t disappoint me I thought it was great. Even better on 3D by the way. Nice. 🙂

